Associated Initiative

Sudden Sound Concert: Renée Baker’s Quadtych

Thursday, September 20th, 2018
Renée Baker

Krannert Art Museum
500 E. Peabody Drive

Event Description

Composer, conductor, performer Renée C. Baker is an accomplished instrumentalist who conducts new music throughout the world that seamlessly blends improvisation and composition.  Baker is the founding music director of the Chicago Modern Orchestra Project, which celebrates contemporary music across genres, highlights living composers, and often performs new scores for silent and experimental films.  Baker was the principal violist for the Chicago Sinfonietta for 25 years, is an active member of the famed AACM (Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians) and has premiered original compositions with Chicago Sinfonietta, Joffrey Ballet Chamber Series, PianoForte Salon Series and Umbria Jazz Festival.

Renée Baker’s Quadtych performs ICHOR BLACK, based on the opera The Baldwin Chronicles: Negro Ideologies.  This chamber quartet features Renée Baker (violin, viola), Karl E.H. Seigfried (bass), William Porter (cello), and Bruce Nelson (vibes, percussion).

All events cosponsored by: 
Center for Advanced Study, Global Crossroads, Krannert Center for the Performing Arts, Krannert Art Museum, Robert E. Brown Center for World Music, School of Music

Renée Baker

Renée Baker is Improvisers Exchange Artist-in-Residence (September 18-26, 2018)