Professor Emeritus

Tamer Başar

Former CAS Director, Professor Emeritus of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Basar image
Courtesy Grainger College of Engineering

Professor Başar is internationally renowned for his scholarly contributions to the fields of systems, control, networks, and game theory, with over 900 publications and 6 books. He has pioneered the game-theoretic approach to robust estimation, identification, control, and communications, which has also had a significant impact in other fields, such as economics. He has made fundamental contributions to the theory of non-cooperative dynamic games, particularly with regard to the interplay between information acquisition and processing, and dynamic Nash and Stackelberg equilibria, as well as to the theory of stochastic teams with asymmetric information. Among his current research interests are stochastic dynamic teams and games; multi-agent networked systems and mean-field games; estimation and control with limited sensing and transmission; resource management and pricing in networks and energy systems; mobile and distributed computing; game-theoretic approach to security in computer networks; social networks; and cyber-physical systems.

He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the European Academy of Sciences, and is a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM), and the International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC). He is a past president of the IEEE Control Systems Society (CSS, 2000), founding president of the International Society of Dynamic Games (ISDG, 1990-1994), and past president of the American Automatic Control Council (AACC, 2012-2013). He is the editor of four book series in systems and control, game theory, and control, automation and robotics, and past (founding) editor-in-chief of IEEE Expert Now as well as past editor-in-chief of Automatica (2004-2014).

For his contributions Professor Başar has received several prestigious awards and recognitions, among which are: the triennial Giorgio Quazza Medal of IFAC (2005), the IEEE Control Systems Technical Field Award (2014), the Richard E. Bellman Control Heritage Award of AACC (2006), the Isaacs Award of ISDG (2010), Hendrik W. Bode Lecture Prize of IEEE CSS (2004), triennial Outstanding Service Award of IFAC (2005), IFAC Advisor (2017), and the Medal of Science of Turkey (1993). He has also received Doctor Honoris Causa from Doğuş University (Istanbul, 2007), Boğaziçi University (Istanbul, 2012), and the National Academy of Sciences of Azerbaijan (2011), and Honorary Professorships from Northeastern University, Shenyang, China (2008), Tsinghua University, Beijing, China (2014), and Shandong University, Jinan, China (2019). In 2019 he was conferred an Honorary Doctorate by KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden, in a white-tie ceremony held in Stockholm Concert Hall. At Illinois, he received the Tau Beta Pi Daniel C. Drucker Eminent Faculty Award from the College of Engineering (2004); was the first Fredric G. and Elizabeth H. Nearing Endowed Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering (1998); served as Interim Director of the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology (2008-2010), and also as Interim Dean of the College of Engineering (2018); holds a Swanlund Endowed Chair (since 2007); and is the Director of the Center for Advanced Study (since 2014).

more information