Professor Emerita

Laura H. Greene

CAS Professor Emerita of Physics

Professor Greene is an experimental condensed matter physicist, investigating strongly correlated electron systems and focusing primarily on revealing the mechanisms of unconventional superconductivity by planar-tunneling and point-contact electron spectroscopies. Her research also involves growing novel materials and developing methods for predictive design of new families of superconductors. She is recognized for her work on superconductor/semiconductor proximity effects, elucidating the physical properties of the pure and doped high-temperature superconductors, the discovery of broken time-reversal symmetry in high-temperature superconductors, and spectroscopic studies of the electronic structure in heavy-fermion metals.

Greene is presently serving on the Board of Directors of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, is Chair of the Division of Materials Physics (DMP) of the American Physical Society (APS), and is Chair of the Board of Governors the for International Institute for Complex and Adaptive Matter (I2CAM). In the APS, she has served on Council, Executive Board, Committee on Committees, was a founding member of the Committee on Informing the Public, co-founder the new Forum on Outreach and Engaging the Public (FOEP), nominating, fellowship, and multiple prize committees. She has completed two terms on the NAS Board on Physics and Astronomy (BPA), and served for 13 years on the Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee (BESAC) for the DoE. Greene has been a visiting scientist in Orsay, UCI, and Cambridge, has co-chaired and advised numerous international conferences, and works with COACh-International to increase the number and career success of women scientists in developing nations.   Her various editorial positions include Reports on the Progress in Physics (editor-in-chief), Philosophical Transactions A, and Current Opinions in Solid State & Materials Science (COSSMS).

Fellow/member: National Academy of Sciences, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Institute of Physics (U.K.), Phi Kappa Phi honor society, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, American Association for the Advancement of Science, American Physical Society: E.O. Lawrence Award for Materials Research, U.S. Department of Energy; Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award, American Physical Society; and Award of Excellence, Bellcore. Swanlund Endowed Professor.

more information