Public Event

Crystal Mooncone–performance
Friday, October 13, 2017
School of Music Building Auditorium
1114 W. Nevada, Urbana

Chris Peck, Jon Moniaci and Stephen Rush


Crystal Mooncone is an electroacoustic band with a psychedelic sensibility, mixing playful interaction with committed listening and melding virtuosic musicianship with a taste for risk.  With over ten years of collaborative improvisation and composition combining piano, organ, flute and accordion with found sound and laptop electronics, this ambient, avant garde world trio recently released their fifth album, Listening Beam Five on Innova Recordings.

Stephen Rush is a Professor of Music at the University of Michigan where he founded the Digital Music Ensemble over 25 years ago, premiering works by La Monte Young, John Cage and Philip Glass. As a performer he has worked with Roscoe Mitchell, Pauline Oliveros, Eugene Chadbourne, Steve Swell and Elliott Sharp, and has orchestral, chamber and solo works recorded on over thirty CD’s.  He is also the author of Free Jazz, Harmolodics and Ornette Coleman, a book of extensive interviews with Ornette Coleman and analyses of compositions/transcriptions of Harmolodic music.

Chris Peck is a composer, computer musician, improviser, and songwriter with a longstanding engagement as a collaborator with contemporary dance and performance. Recent projects have included co-creations of music-dance works with LA-based choreographer Milka Djordjevich (MASS at The Kitchen, NYC in 2015) and Brussels-based choreographer Eleanor Bauer (MEYOUCYCLE at Kunstenfestivaldesarts in 2016). Peck teaches music courses at the Global Arts Studies Program at the University of California Merced, where he also directs the Experimental Inter-Arts Ensemble.

Jon Moniaci is a composer, musician and software engineer who frequently collaborates with dance makers. His music incorporates acoustic and electronic textures and often relies on flexible and improvisatory structures. In 2011 he received a New York Dance and Performance “Bessie” Award for his score for choreographer Beth Gill’s Electric Midwife.

With special guests: Deke Weaver and Jennifer Allen