Public Event

Sudden Sound Concert: Renée Baker’s Quadtych
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Krannert Art Museum
500 E. Peabody Drive
Champaign (View Map)


Composer, conductor, performer Renée C. Baker is an accomplished instrumentalist who conducts new music throughout the world that seamlessly blends improvisation and composition.  Baker is the founding music director of the Chicago Modern Orchestra Project, which celebrates contemporary music across genres, highlights living composers, and often performs new scores for silent and experimental films.  Baker was the principal violist for the Chicago Sinfonietta for 25 years, is an active member of the famed AACM (Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians) and has premiered original compositions with Chicago Sinfonietta, Joffrey Ballet Chamber Series, PianoForte Salon Series and Umbria Jazz Festival.

Renée Baker’s Quadtych performs ICHOR BLACK, based on the opera The Baldwin Chronicles: Negro Ideologies.  This chamber quartet features Renée Baker (violin, viola), Karl E.H. Seigfried (bass), William Porter (cello), and Bruce Nelson (vibes, percussion).

Renée Baker is Improvisers Exchange Artist-in-Residence (September 18-26, 2018). Website

All events cosponsored by:

Center for Advanced Study, Global Crossroads, Krannert Center for the Performing Arts, Krannert Art Museum, Robert E. Brown Center for World Music, School of Music